I celebrate the life of Sir Edward Kasisiri

The news of the death of my maths teacher Mr Edward Kasisiri caused me some despondency. After years of not seeing him I found him near the old school; Buganda Road Primary School. It was as if we had never separated. He grasped me wee hand and took me where he dared. He asked me if I remembered my mathematical checkups; euphemism for slap and despite painful memoir I confirmed.

My son, he told me, those check ups were what put you in line. I have no room for laziness. I can work on stupidity but not laziness. This brought to mind my painful memory of 20 years when he brought me to the blackboard to solve a number. After successfully conquering the number he flogged me! The justification was that I had failed it in a test and the explanation was simply laziness.

I went and told my master of my impending martial nuptials. He said, without hesitation, I have to attend. Seeing him in front row warmed the soft fibres of my heart. I was happy. We took a photo that I shall forever cherish.

Five thousand people thronged the church to pay tribute to Edward. I was in attendance since he long taught me you rather miss my wedding but not my funeral. And so I attended.

Claire, his daughter, amused me with he reminisces. How he got angry when she did not open the gate for him. Apparently it was a moment he appreciated and loved. His discipline and insistence on a savings culture; how he would task his kids to save… He was a disciplinarian. His wife told of his predictability. And how he would be set up to make the comments he would make at home, at the dinner table and at home. Ah! I mourn my master but  I mourn more for his family. If there can be tears in my eyes how many more…how much more in their own eyes..
mama Jennifer thank you for looking after my master …thank you for looking after the kids. God bless you..

image